The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies On Earth

I’m not kidding. I’m not exaggerating. I know everyone says their chocolate chip cookie recipe is the best, but unless they’re claiming this recipe, they are wrong. They just are. I’ve made these for my family, for V’s family, for coworkers, and of course (perhaps most often) just for myself and V. My mom said they were up there with the best she’s ever had. My MOM said that, you guys.

I’ve perfected this recipe by blending a few different ones found on Foodgawker. The secret ingredient in all of those recipes is…cornstarch. Some people find that weird, but since this is essentially the first CCC recipe I’ve tried on my own, I don’t know any better. Cornstarch is where it’s at.

choc chip cookie

Amazing Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1.5 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips (mini chips are okay too)

Directions

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Spray a cookie sheet (or two) with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugars until fluffy and light in color (this is why your sticks of butter can’t just come straight out of the refrigerator. Not like I ever made that mistake or anything.) Add egg and vanilla and blend together.

Mix in all the dry ingredients: flour, cornstarch, baking soda, salt.  Stir in chocolate chips.

Using a standard-sized cookie scoop, or shaping with your hands, drop dough onto prepared baking sheet. (Ignore the gross cooking spray stains on my pan please.) Bake for 8-10 minutes – NO LONGER!! It’s important to remember that at 8-10 minutes, they are NOT going to look like they’re done. The edges may or may not be slightly golden brown; the tops will not be at all. Take them out anyway – don’t let them bake longer than 10 minutes. I promise it’s going to work.

Allow cookies to cool on the pan for at least 5 minutes or until they appear more done. Transfer to a wire baking rack to finish cooling.

Notes

You can use a Kitchenaid stand mixer for this, but if you don’t have one, a hand mixer does the job just fine. That’s what I use. :-)

Depending on the size of the dough balls you make, this recipe yields between 18-24 cookies.

If you try these, please let me know how it goes for you!

One thought on “The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies On Earth

Leave a Reply

