Chicken Tortilla Soup

Sorry for the long absence – I’m sure you’ve been just devastated πŸ˜‰

In the colder months, I make a lot of soups. I’ve already given you my beloved lasagna soup recipe. I also have a great one for minestrone. Tonight, we do chicken tortilla soup. Super simple, super fast, super yummy.

chicken tortilla soup

Chicken Tortilla Soup

(adapted from Eat Drink Love)

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 of a large yellow onion, diced
  • 15 oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 8 oz corn (canned or frozen)
  • 1 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 15 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 4 cups chicken or vegetable broth
  • 2 boneless/skinless chicken breasts
  • broken-up tortilla chips

Directions

Heat the olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. Toss in the diced onion and cook for a few minutes until fragrant. Add black beans and corn, then each of the spices. Stir to coat.

Meanwhile, dice your chicken breasts into small pieces. Alternatively, you could use already-cooked rotisserie chicken and shred it; that would probably be more “authentic” but I chose to dice it and cook it in a pan separately.

Pour in the chicken or vegetable broth (really doesn’t matter which – I ended up mixing some of both because of what I had already open/handy) as well as the diced tomatoes. Add in the chicken, however you’ve chosen to prepare it. Stir it all well, lower the heat and simmer for 20 minutes.

When the time is up, serve the soup in bowls and garnish with broken tortilla chips, shredded cheese, sour cream – whatever floats your boat.

Notes

I (approximately) doubled the spice measurements from the original recipe and honestly, still found it a bit too bland. So go nuts with the chili powder, the cayenne pepper, the paprika.

I’m aware the photo is absolutely terrible, and I said I’d get better, not worse…the trouble is I can’t find the uploader thingmajig for my camera so I’m stuck using my iPhone. SOMEDAY, it will get better. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

