I’m baaaack! With beef stew.

So I got married, I went to India, got married again…it was all fantastic. Then I went back to normal life. And now finally, three months later, I’m back to the blog.

Everybody loves a good beef stew in cold weather. I can’t really imagine eating it in July, but come October and onward, it’s damn near the most comforting dinner you can have. And EASY. We love good and easy at Chez Sconniemolly.

Because everybody loves a good beef stew, most of you probably already have a recipe that you use every time and love. That’s cool. I actually didn’t, until I came across this one. So I decided to post it in case there are others like me out there searching for a quality stew recipe. I don’t have a picture unfortunately, but I’m pretty sure we all know what beef stew looks like.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew

(adapted from Amy Bites)

Ingredients

  • 1.5 lbs stew beef
  • 1.5 cups thickly sliced carrots
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 6-8 small potatoes, quartered
  • 1 yellow onion, quartered
  • 1 clove garlic, sliced
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup beef broth or water
  • 1 cup frozen peas or green beans (whichever you like)
  • S&P to taste

Directions

You CAN dredge the beef in flour and brown it on the stove before dumping it in the slow cooker, but I am lazy and I did not do that, and I feel my beef turned out deliciously. So-

Dump the first 9 ingredients in the slow cooker. Cover and cook for 8 hours (on LOW) or 4-6 hours (on HIGH).

Ten minutes before serving, add in the peas or green beans. Season the stew with salt and pepper to taste. Done.

Notes

Another dump-it-all-in-and-forget-about-it recipe…love! I made the mistake of including my green beans with the whole stew as it cooked for 4 hours on HIGH…they turned out pretty limp and unpleasant sadly. But not enough that it ruined everything because after all, the beef and potatoes are the stars here, and they were tender and lovely.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

